Press here to Skip to the main content
Font Size
Default Font Size Larger Font Size Largest Font Size RSS Subscription Change Colours Sitemap Mobile/Accessible Version 繁體 简体
Subscribe to e-newsletter
Weather Traffic Conditions

Teacher study leave scheme opens

August 01, 2017

The Education Bureau invited secondary school teachers today to apply for a paid non-local study leave scheme for the 2017-18 school year.


Participating teachers can join a five to six-week study programme and professional development activities in Finland or Australia.


The study leave arrangement was an initiative pledged in the 2017 Policy Address.


The three-year pilot scheme will benefit 150 teachers.


The bureau said it gives teachers a unique learning experience which will tap into new perspectives and the latest global education developments.


The first batch of the scheme will be held from April to June with two customised programmes - Interdisciplinary Learning & Entrepreneurship Education at Finland’s University of Jyvaskyla, and Catering for Students with Special Educational Needs at Australia’s Deakin University.


In addition to the overseas study leave, teachers will get another three weeks to research their programme before departing.


They will draw up a concrete school-based initiative or research proposal upon returning to Hong Kong.


Airfares and course fees will be sponsored by the bureau and funding for supply teachers during participants’ study leave will be provided to their schools.


The application deadline is October 6. Click here for details.

Qualifications Framework