Rule of law working groups formed

April 6, 2023

The Department of Justice today announced that two working groups have been set up under the Steering Committee on Rule of Law Education to follow up on the work relating to the Rule of Law Education Train-the-Trainers Programme.


The establishment of the two groups - the Working Group on Course Design & Teaching Materials and the Working Group on Coordination & Liaison - was agreed at the committee's first meeting in February.


The course design group was formed on March 29 and convened its first meeting that day.


Chaired by Non-Permanent Judge of the Court of Final Appeal Patrick Chan, the group's main duty is to guide, co-ordinate and examine the structure and key contents of the programme's training course as well as the design and preparation of relevant teaching materials.


The other working group, which was established today, is chaired by Legislative Council member Carmen Kan.


It mainly co-ordinates the programme's implementation, including the invitation of speakers, recruitment of students, promotion and publicity work, and the direction and co-ordination of the strategy for further promoting the rule of law in the community.


Both groups are also required to report to the committee on its work progress.


The launch of the steering committee and the programme are among the department's key policy initiatives announced in the 2022 Policy Address.


The programme aims to train people in various sectors of the community and enhance their capability of and effectiveness in passing on correct messages of the rule of law to others, thereby achieving the objective of promoting rule of law education on all fronts.


Click here for the membership lists of the two working groups.

Back to top