2 countries extend visa-free access

October 20, 2023

The visa-free entry periods for Hong Kong Special Administrative Region passport holders visiting the Republic of Albania and the Republic of Uganda have both been extended to up to 90 days, the Immigration Department announced today.


The visa-free entry period for Albania has been extended from up to 14 days to up to 90 days, while that for Uganda has been changed to up to 90 days, having previously been subject to determination by Ugandan authorities on arrival.


Noting that Albania and Uganda are both involved in the Belt & Road Initiative, the department said the new arrangements will bring greater travel convenience to Hong Kong SAR passport holders, besides strengthening tourism, cultural and economic ties between the places.


As of today, 168 countries and territories have granted visa-free or visa-on-arrival access to Hong Kong SAR passport holders.

Back to top