Education advisory head named

March 31, 2023

The Government today announced the appointment of Dr Eugene Chan to succeed Pang Yiu-kai as the chairman of the Advisory Committee on Gifted Education (ACGE) for two years from April 1.


Meanwhile, the Government appointed four new members - Dung Yi-ping, Lau Kwong-yip, Rex Sham and Ayse Wong.


Welcoming the appointments, Secretary for Education Choi Yuk-lin said Dr Chan is an eminent community leader who has been appointed to various advisory and statutory bodies.


“I am confident that, by virtue of Dr Chan's strong leadership as well as the extensive expertise and experience of members from different fields and professions, the ACGE will continue to offer to the bureau constructive advice from multiple perspectives on planning the long-term development of gifted education in Hong Kong so that multi-skilled talent can be nurtured for the development of our city and country."


Ms Choi also thanked the outgoing Chairman Pang Yiu-kai for serving as the ACGE chairman since its establishment in 2017. She paid tribute to his excellent chairmanship and enthusiasm.


She pointed out that under Mr Pang’s exemplary leadership, the ACGE has offered invaluable recommendations to the bureau on the policies and development of gifted education over the years.


She also thanked the outgoing members, Anita Kwok, Cecilia Lee, Carrie Leung and John Tan for their invaluable contribution during their tenure.


The ACGE advises the Secretary for Education on the use and management of the Gifted Education Fund, the long-term development of gifted education, as well as measures and initiatives for promoting gifted education.

Back to top