Stricter arrival rules for 2 places

January 19, 2022

The Government today announced that in view of the detection of Omicron cases, Papua New Guinea and Suriname will be listed as Group A specified places from January 22.


Non-Hong Kong residents who have stayed there within 21 days will not be allowed to enter the city, it said.


Meanwhile, Hong Kong residents who have stayed in the two countries can only board a flight for Hong Kong if they have been fully vaccinated and hold a recognised COVID-19 jab record.


Upon arrival, they must undergo 21 days of compulsory quarantine in a designated quarantine hotel, during which six virus tests have to be conducted. On the 26th day of arrival in Hong Kong, they must also undergo another compulsory test in a community testing centre.


The Government will gazette the updated specifications under the Prevention & Control of Disease (Regulation of Cross-boundary Conveyances & Travellers) Regulation to effect the measures.

Back to top