Tighter arrival rules for more regions

January 1, 2022

The Government today announced that Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Guinea, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and the Grenadines, and Uruguay will be listed as Group A specified places from January 4 due to the detection of Omicron cases.


Non-Hong Kong residents who have stayed in such places within 21 days will not be allowed to enter the city, the Government said.


Meanwhile, Hong Kong residents who have stayed in these places can only board a flight for Hong Kong if they have been fully vaccinated and hold a recognised COVID-19 jab record.


Upon arrival, they have to undergo compulsory quarantine in a designated quarantine hotel for 21 days, during which six virus tests have to be conducted. On the 26th day of arrival in Hong Kong, they must also undergo compulsory testing in a community testing centre.


The Government will gazette the updated specifications under the Prevention & Control of Disease (Regulation of Cross-boundary Conveyances & Travellers) Regulation to effect the measures.

Back to top