Govt tightens arrival rules

November 29, 2021

The Government announced today that non-Hong Kong residents from Angola, Ethiopia, Nigeria and Zambia will not be allowed to enter the city from November 30.


These four places will be specified as high-risk places in view of an imported case of the Omicron variant from Nigeria, and the latest epidemic development in that region.


Hong Kong residents arriving from these four places are required to undergo quarantine at the Penny’s Bay Quarantine Centre for the first seven days, during which they must undergo daily tests and their health conditions will be monitored by healthcare professionals.


After seven days, they will be allowed to finish the remaining 14 days of compulsory quarantine at the designated hotel which they have reserved. They are still required to undergo frequent testing during quarantine there.


This arrangement is currently applicable to inbound travellers from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe.


Additionally, from December 2, the Government will specify nine places which have detected imported Omicron cases as high-risk places.


They include Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Israel and Italy. Non-Hong Kong residents who have stayed there within 21 days are not allowed to enter the city.


Residents can only board a flight for Hong Kong if they have been fully vaccinated and hold a recognised vaccination record.


They have to undergo compulsory quarantine in a designated hotel for 21 days upon arrival, with six tests to be conducted during quarantine.


Inbound travellers from high-risk places must also be tested in a community testing centre on the 26th day of their arrival.

Back to top