Food hygiene advisers named

March 26, 2021

The Chief Executive has appointed Prof Kenneth Leung as Chairman of the Advisory Council on Food & Environmental Hygiene.


Ten new members have also been appointed to the council while six serving members were reappointed.


The appointments are for two years from April 1.


Prof Leung is Chair Prof of Environmental Toxicology & Chemistry at Department of Chemistry and Director of State Key Laboratory of Marine Pollution at City University of Hong Kong. He served on the council as a member from 2013 to 2019.


Secretary for Food & Health Prof Sophia Chan welcomed the appointments.


"We are glad to have Prof Kenneth Leung as the Chairman of the council. Prof Leung served as a member of the council for a long time. With his profound experience and expertise, I am certain we can continue to count on him as well as the members of the council for advice and insights for further enhancement of our services to the public."


She also thanked outgoing Chairman Prof Lo Yuk-lam and 10 members for their contributions to the council in the past years.


The council is a non-statutory body advising on food and environmental hygiene issues.


Click here for the membership list.

Back to top