HK-ASEAN pact to take effect

September 28, 2020

The commitments relating to Hong Kong and Brunei Darussalam, an Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) member state, under the trade and investment agreements between Hong Kong and ASEAN will enter into force on October 20.


Tariff reduction commitments under the Free Trade Agreement covers different kinds of Hong Kong commodities, including jewellery, apparel and clothing accessories, watches and clocks, and toys.


Hong Kong service providers will enjoy better business opportunities and legal certainty in market access for services sectors in Brunei Darussalam, such as business, telecommunications, construction and related engineering, education, tourism and travel related services, and transport services that have traditional strengths or potential for development.


Upon the Investment Agreement’s implementation, Brunei Darussalam will provide Hong Kong enterprises investing in its area with fair and equitable treatment of their investments, physical protection and security of their investments, and the assurance of the free transfer of their investments and returns.


So far, the commitments relating to the eight ASEAN member states of Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam have taken effect.


The date of entry into force for the remaining ASEAN member state of Cambodia will be announced as soon as it is confirmed.

Back to top